Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Honored Allies Wednesday: Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic (USSR)

"The Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic was one of the republics of the Soviet Union from its second occupation (by Russia) in 1921 to its independence in 1991.  Coterminous with the present-day republic of Georgia, it was based on the traditional territory of Georgia, which had existed as a series of independent states in the Caucasus prior to the first occupation of annexation in the course of the 19th century.  The Georgian SSR was formed in 1921 and subsequently incorporated in the Soviet Union in 1922.  Until 1936 it was a part of the Transcaucasian Socialist Federative Soviet Republic, which existed as a union republic within the USSR. From November 18, 1989, the Georgian SSR declared its sovereignty over Soviet laws.  The republic was renamed the Republic of Georgia on November 14, 1990, and subsequently became independent before the dissolution of the Soviet Union on April 9, 1991, whereupon each former SSR became a sovereign state." 

More Red republics,

No comments:

Post a Comment